Watchwoman

I have sat upon

Scotia Bluff of Eureka

For a millennium

My arms searching

Reaching skywards

My roots spreading

I have become gazer

Standing testament

Of long times spent

I have witnessed

The inhales and exhales

Of countless days

I have witnessed

Mankind’s brilliance

In fortitude and defeat

I am the original

Birch Tree who

Extends her reach

I am now a grove

Of Birch Trees

Canopying the falls

I am the Sentry

Watchwoman of Earth

Anticipating my rebirth

In the quiets of

A winter storm

You may hear me

“I open to the North,

I open to the East,

I open to the South,

I open to the West,

Elements complete my circle.”

I stand and wait

Bare and naked

In winter’s storms

For the coming

For my resurrection

For mankind to understand

Peace.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. vivinfrance
    Sep 13, 2010 @ 07:35:15

    You have a wonderful way with words: I love your verbs!

    Reply

  2. amanda
    Sep 15, 2010 @ 15:30:42

    “Watchwoman of the Earth” …. if it were possible the Redwood would be she!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

