North Bergen, NJ (hometown)

ImageRoof Deck

Dawn pushes away the empty blackness

To dance on the pink, yellow, blue-gray houses

Of the neighbors

Their vinyl glistening of morning dew

The morning doves

Coo on top of air conditioners

Sparrows excessive chirping

Their mating rituals as they fly from

Rooftop to gutters

My moist back yard dirt,

Robins look for worms

The big brown cauldron looking planter

Is coming alive with strawberries

I am allergic to them

I grow them for John

The lilies have started

Their assent from the urn

I planted them in last year

The steel 3 foot trough like planter

My herbs

Early morning on my roof deck

My oasis

Then the cars start going by

The train in the meadows toots

7:00am everyone up

The 100 year old house groans

The dogs need letting out

A crane flies west overhead

Somewhere for the East or Hudson Rivers

To the Meadowlands, Hackensack River

Time to make the coffee

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. vivinfrance
    May 14, 2012 @ 15:27:52

    What a wonderful geographical tour this prompt has taken us all on.

    Reply

  2. eekwrite
    May 14, 2012 @ 15:44:47

    Yes this has been lovely

    Reply

  3. Poetic Bloomings
    May 19, 2012 @ 01:29:55

    Pour me a cup, please, while I relish your words. 🙂

    Marie Elena

    Reply

  4. eekwrite
    May 19, 2012 @ 18:01:56

    But it will have to be on my pool deck in Sedona AZ. Due to a house fire at my North Bergen, NJ house. I have found my HOME here in Sedona, AZ I do not believe I will want to return to NJ any time soon. I have several new pieces I have written, that are not ready to post yet, but they are coming

    Reply

Leave a Reply

